You need Adobe Flash Player to view this content.
Click here to download Adobe Flash Player
General Aztecs Maya Tocuaro Kids Contact 24 May 2017/7 Eagle
Text Size:

Link to page of interest to teachers
Click to find out how we can help you!
Search the Site (type in white box):

HOT TIP
Most recent entries now at the TOP!
Graciela and Ian, Mexicolore teaching team

Letters from kids and teachers

If you’ve only time to read one testimonial, scroll down to ‘You just get better each time...’ (2013)
(Note: we haven’t edited any of the spelling, punctuation or grammar mistakes!)
’Your company is brilliant for bringing ancient civilisations to life’ - Louise Thurtle, Head of History, Chigwell Junior School, Essex, June 2016.

‘A class apart’
‘A class apart’
‘We have other companies in to deliver the Vikings, the Romans etc., but nothing like this: this is a class apart!’ - Lisa Bogle, Headteacher, Selwyn Primary School, London £4, May 2017, following our Maya workshop.

‘Breathtaking’
‘Breathtaking’
- Year 6 teacher addressing children after our workshop on the Maya and the Aztecs, Longfield Primary School, Harrow, May 2017.
NB: the teachers helped us cover our display during school dinners with Indian saris so next year’s cohort of children wouldn’t get a sneak preview of the artefacts...!

Enthusiasm and passion
Enthusiasm and passion
‘Our Year 6 absolutely loved your workshop last Thursday. Thank you again for the enthusiasm and passion you show to the children.’ Nichola Mullins, Head of Year 6, Emmer Green Primary School, Reading, Berks., January 2017

‘Every sentence you said was even more information’
‘Every sentence you said was even more information’
‘I learnt a lot, it was like having a long lesson but being made colourful, fun and most of all, unforgettable!’
’I’ve been inspired to learn more about the Aztecs and know as much as you one day’
’It has inspired me to move on with my journey into Aztec history!’
’Every sentence you said was even more information’
’Who knew there were so many clues and symbols in one artefact’ [the Sunstone]
’We almost took the roof off the hall with our menacing Aztec chant’
’It was my favourite workshop in the school and that’s saying a lot as I have been in this school for 7 years.’
Year 6 pupil letters, Aztecs workshop, the Raleigh School, West Horsley, Surrey, September 2016.

‘Truly spectacular’
‘Truly spectacular’
‘Thank you so much for your wonderful workshop today - it was truly spectacular. I can not imagine the amount of preparation that it took for you to prepare such an engaging couple of hours. The time flew by and the children remained engaged throughout. The children had a wonderful day.’
Email from Sara Baynes, Yr. 4 teacher, Holy Trinity CE Primary School, Rickmansworth, March 2016.

‘The complements have all been glowing’
‘The complements have all been glowing’
‘I just wanted to write to you to thank you for your absolutely wonderful Mexicolore workshop yesterday. It was an engaging and highly valuable session for the boys, and both your wealth of knowledge and enthusiasm towards the subject was evident for all to see. The complements I, and other staff, have received from the boys on their time yesterday morning have all been glowing. They absolutely loved learning about new elements of Aztec and Mayan history/culture and were particularly enthused by the numerous hands on elements of the session.
Many thanks again for all your hard work and I hope we will see you again soon.’
Email from Ed Wickstead, Yr 5 Coordinator, Dulwich College Junior School, London, March 2016.

‘A lasting impression for years to come...’
‘A lasting impression for years to come...’
‘The enthusiasm and passion that you brought to the subject will leave a lasting impression on the children for years to come...’
Email from Michael Doughty & Yr 5 staff and children, The Henry Moore Primary School, Essex, March 2016.

‘Worthy of Steven Spielberg...’!
‘Worthy of Steven Spielberg...’!
‘A huge thanks for another outstanding workshop; it’s always a special highlight for the girls and a truly memorable experience. The finale was worthy of anything Steven Spielberg could conjure up!
’Once again, many thanks for a marvellous afternoon and very much looking forward to welcoming you back in 2018...’ Email from Matthew Breslin, Head of History of Art, City of London School for Girls, January 2016.

‘It was a pleasure for you to come to our school’!
‘It was a pleasure for you to come to our school’!
‘[My favourite part was] chanting because it really felt like we were under a temple in Tenochtitlan’
’The chanting made me feel much better for the day’
I really enjoyed the ball game when you have to keep the ball moving for the sun to rise the next day...’
’Thanks to you I’m now an expert!’
’It was a pleasure for you to come to our school’ (!)
Year 4/5 pupil letters, Maya & Aztecs workshop, Brookmead School, Bedfordshire, October 2015.

‘Now I want to teach people about the Maya too...’
‘Now I want to teach people about the Maya too...’
‘I really enjoyed it. I will remember that day until I become an adult. It was really fun and inspirational. I want to teach people about the Mayans too. Please come again!’
’I had an amazing Mexicolore Mayan experience - it was incredible. You filled and left my head bursting with interesting facts about the Maya...’
Year 6 pupil letters, Maya & Aztecs workshop, Harewood Junior School, Gloucester, December 2015.

‘Even the dinner ladies joined in!’
‘Even the dinner ladies joined in!’
‘I would like to thank you for the amazing workshop yesterday. The children were totally engaged and it was truly inspirational.
Here are a few quotes from the children
”Ian was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable”
”We really enjoyed dressing up”
”We loved it!”
All the teachers share the opinion that it the best workshop we have ever seen in school.
Even the lunchtime ladies commented how brilliant it was, and joined in - which is unheard of!’
Email from Yr 6 teacher Beckie Murphy, Cranmere Primary School, Esher, December 2015.

‘Breathtaking! You came across as a genuine expert’
‘Breathtaking! You came across as a genuine expert’
‘Fabulous - inspirational! A genuinely “rich” experience for our children (and teachers). The wealth of resources/artefacts was breathtaking! ... We really felt that you eat, breathe & sleep the Aztecs and the fact that you came across as a genuine historian/expert is what made the workshop to exceptional! Thank you so much - see you next year!’
Lisa, Paul & Laura - Yr 6 teachers, Icknield Junior School, Luton, November 2015.

‘Thank you for sharing your passion for the Aztecs and Mexico’
‘Thank you for sharing your passion for the Aztecs and Mexico’
‘A brilliant way to bring our topic to life!’
’I’ve learned more in those 3 hours than I have in 6 Aztec lessons!’
’It brought me to thinking how complex and smart the Aztecs were’
’I hope you 2 can travel the world like superstars which you are’
’What really amazed me was how realistic the set design was!’
’Thank you for a visual feast which brought my learning to life’
’It was the best Aztec museum you could ever have’
’It’s hard to make education fun, but you really hit the nail on the head!’
’I did not care about feathers but now you have made me love them’
’The best school day ever!’
’All in all I had the best time of my life’
’Thank you for sharing your passion for the Aztecs and Mexico’
’You seem like a lovely family and know a lot about ancient Mexico. You seem like two Quetzalcoatls with knowledge.’
Year 6 pupil letters, Aztecs workshop, The Raleigh School, West Horsley, Surrey, September 2015.

‘3 weeks work in 1 morning’
‘3 weeks work in 1 morning’
‘Thank you I’ve learnt a lot more about it now, our teacher has been trying to explain that to us in 3 weeks and you did it in a morning Thank you it was awesome from Jacie’
Year 5/6 pupil feedback, St. Andrew’s CE Primary School, Congresbury, July 2015.

‘Finale was superb!’
‘Finale was superb!’
‘Amazing! The children & staff all learned LOTS and were enthralled...
’VERY hands-on. Loved how you got the children to act out roles & play instruments. Wide range of topics covered. finale was superb!
’One of our very experienced TAs said it was the BEST school visit of this type that she’d seen!’
Teacher feedback, Bar Hill Community Primary School, Cambridge; Maya workshop, June 2015

‘A fantastic culmination for our topic!’
‘A fantastic culmination for our topic!’
‘The children had a wonderful morning. Through engaging activities they have learnt a huge amount and already cannot stop talking about it!...
’Exceptional! [interaction with children]. The children felt comfortable enough to join in, but behaved well, showing they were enthralled!...
’We loved the projections, props and costumes. The whole organisation was ever so professional...
’What a fantastic culmination for our topic. THANK YOU!’
Ella Lee, Danielle Henson, Laylee Pocock, Kelly Wiltshear (Year 3 teachers), Maya workshop, Little Common Primary School, Bexhill, June 2015.

‘Learning without realising’
‘Learning without realising’
‘35 years is a long time to do what you do with the energy you do it with... collectively you’ve affected so many people in so many ways’
’Thank you very much for your enthusiastic, educational history enrichment day.... You weren’t afraid to let us have a go on the instruments, in case we broke them so you showed us that you trusted us.’
’Your amazing Powerpoint was effective because it did not cloud your mind with words: it just gave you big pictures!’
’I’m touched to know you put your love into all of your work, letting us touch and use some of the equipment and artefacts... I wish I could do the day all over again.’
’You were determined to make it as enjoyable for us as for you, Joanna and Graciela.’
’It was like I was learning without realising, thank you.’
Year 6 pupil letters, Maya workshop, Allenbourn Middle School, Dorset, March 2015.

‘Faultless; inspirational’
‘Faultless; inspirational’
[Main strengths:] ‘Passion, knowledge, interactivity, resources. The show was packed with information but flew. All the children were thoroughly engaged and involved. Faultless. Inspirational.’ Vickki Morris & Matt Breavington, Yr. 5 teachers, Hare Street Primary School, Harlow, Essex, April 2015.

‘Absolutely fantastic’
‘Absolutely fantastic’
‘Absolutely fantastic. The ideal way to start a new topic - catered for all the learning styles and the children and adults were engrossed... Perfectly balanced, well timed... and a good overview of the topic.’ Teacher feedback, Wood End Primary School, Harpenden, Herts., January 2015.

‘Would absolutely recommend your workshop to everyone!’
‘Would absolutely recommend your workshop to everyone!’
‘We were very pleased with the visit. The delivery was superb and was a real success. The children really enjoyed the whole experience... EXCELLENT! [interaction with the children]... We would absolutely recommend your workshop to everyone!’ Teacher feedback, Peacehaven Heights Primary School, Sussex, December 2014.

‘Talking about it for days...’
‘Talking about it for days...’
‘We enjoyed your visit SO much. The children were talking about how much they had enjoyed it for days! Thank you. See you next year.’ Teacher feedback, Balfour Primary School, Brighton, December 2014.

‘The happiest I’ve ever seen everyone together...’
‘The happiest I’ve ever seen everyone together...’
‘Your workshop has made my brain pop! It had so many facts that when I told them to my family they all got fed up of me saying things about the Aztecs. Thank you for making my brain an Aztec factfile.’
’You are great teachers and everyone at Lady Bankes says “thats the best workshop I’ve ever seen!” even the teachers.’
’i really enjoyed when we are all chanting loudly. I think thats the happiest I’ve ever seen everyone together. I will always remember it.’
’I felt like a true Aztec.’
’It was much much better than reading books.’
’What you do for children is amazing. I would definitely reccomend this workshop its the best we seen. I loved it.’
’At home I tought my Mum and dad some things about the Aztecs.’
’We have never had so much informaction on one topic ever...’
’You made those two hours and forty five minutes a happy time learning things some people never knew.’
’I hope you become the most famous Aztec experts ever.’
’Even though you are old you are the best two people in the world.’
Year 5 children, Lady Bankes Junior School, Ruislip, November 2014.

‘Very favourably impressed’
‘Very favourably impressed’
“The paper I gave went down well in Stockholm. There was a lot of interest in the educational programme for the Day of the Dead [exhibition at the Museum of Mankind]. Several people in the symposium had seen some of the children’s sessions and were very favourably impressed. A lady from the Ethnographical Museum in Stockholm was so impressed by what your education people were doing that she took notes and the Stockholm Museum set up a similar programme in their museum...”
George Bankes, Keeper of Ethnology, The Manchester Museum, 28/7/94.

‘Lovely to see them so excited about their learning’
‘Lovely to see them so excited about their learning’
‘Just to say a massive thank you for visiting Lady Bankes yesterday, the children were so enthused after the workshop, it was lovely to see them so excited about their learning. I will be in touch to book next year’s workshop...’
Lubna Rahman, Head of Year 5, Lady Bankes Junior School, Ruislip, November 2014, by email.

‘Favourite event of the year’
‘Favourite event of the year’
‘We absolutely loved the Mexicolore morning that you did with us in true Redriff tradition earlier this year in the Autumn term. Many of the children now moving on to secondary school have said it was their favourite event of the year so thank you so much...’
Chloe Graham, Yr. 6 Class Teacher, Redriff Primary School, Rotherhithe, London, September 2014.

‘Thank you for your passion...’
‘Thank you for your passion...’
‘Thank you for your passion which is infectious and has made us feel passionate about studying the Aztecs...’ Sian Hackett, Year 5 teacher, Fleetville Junior School, July 2014.

‘Absolutely superb [educational value]’
‘Absolutely superb [educational value]’
[Our main strengths:] ‘Variety of activities, involvement of children, dynamic & interactive, so much to see and do... Worth every penny.’
Caroline Golledge, Yr. 5 teacher, Churchend Primary School, Tilehurst, Reading, June 2014.

‘A beautiful glorious thunder storm...’
‘A beautiful glorious thunder storm...’
MUSIC in our Flagship Programme:-
’I loved the rhythmic roaring chant at the beginning. It was exhilarating’
’My favourite part was the brilliant costumes and music and dancing, the air filled with fun’
’[The instruments were] like a beautiful glorious thunder storm’
’The instruments were calming and sounded beautiful. It was like a lullaby’
’I enjoyed it when we turned counting to four in the Aztecs special language into a dance and a song and that you chose some of the children in the audience to come out and play some instruments...’
’The Aztecs were the founders of many instruments including: the death whistle, the double tongue wood block, big drums and a rain maker...’
Letters from children at East Wittering CP School, Sussex, Feb. 2014

‘A treasure trove of unbelievable, intricate artefacts’
‘A treasure trove of unbelievable, intricate artefacts’
‘A genius way to bring Aztec culture into the limelight’
’It was a breathtaking experience and I was under a spell for every minute of the performance’
’The most eye popping fact you taught me was about the Sun Stone. With its weight of 24 tons I just couldn’t stop myself from telling my parents time and time again’
’Thank you to your wife Graciela, for showing us how to make the chocolate drink which we now call hot chocolate’
’I have added truckloads of information to what I already know’
’From the moment I came in I was glued to the wonders and myths from the Mexicans’
’The air filled with fun’
’My eyes were always on what you were doing because it was really interesting. Everyone I spoke to was forlorn when you left...’
’It was so engaging, entertaining and unpredictable’
’I loved the rhythmic roaring chant at the beginning. It was exhilarating... the treasure trove of unbelievable, intricate artefacts...’
Children’s letters from East Wittering CP School, Feb 2014

‘Truly magical...’
‘Truly magical...’
‘I wanted to thank you, Philip and Graciela (in spirit!) for a truly magical and fantastic afternoon’s workshop here at City of London School For Girls. In those few hours you teach them more than I can ever achieve in a whole term! The girls won’t forget a truly memorable experience and I’m sure will visit Mexico in the years ahead...’ Matthew Breslin, History Coordinator, City of London School for Girls, Barbican, Feb. 2014, by email.

‘We were astounded with the number of props and artefacts...’
‘We were astounded with the number of props and artefacts...’
‘The visit was fantastic. We were astounded with the number of props and artefacts that you brought along and your subject knowledge was fantastic. The whole experience was total value for money... Fantastic rapport with the children. Great pace and delivery. The children were constantly engaged and interested. The ICT resources were brilliant - they aided the spoken delivery without confusion or distraction... Thank you for a brilliant workshop. The children now have a much greater understanding of the Aztec way of life and will recognise new ideas in our learning in class.’ Liz Nairac, Yr 4 teacher, Trent CE Primary School, Cockfosters, Herts., January 2014.

‘Completely spellbound...’
‘Completely spellbound...’
‘The visit was a huge success. The children got so much out of the workshop. It has helped them to build on some prior knowledge and inspired them to learn more! The children were completely spellbound by the whole presentation, which has really brought the subject to life for them. The girl whose birthday it was said that it was her best birthday ever!’ Avalon Mountford, Yr 6 teacher, Holly Park Primary School, London N11, December 2013.

‘A truly magical experience...’
‘A truly magical experience...’
‘The show never fails to amaze and excite the children. It is wonderful to see their interest spark questions and a real keenness to learn. The huge array of brilliantly displayed artefacts brings the topic to life and your expert knowledge coupled with your wonderful way with the children ensures a truly magical experience.’ Vicky Lake, Subject Leader-Humanities, Parkfields Middle School, Toddington, Beds., November 2013.

‘I wish to learn on that higher level you spoke about...’
‘I wish to learn on that higher level you spoke about...’
Kids’ feedback: ‘I almost fell head first into a daydream of joining the Aztecs on their long journey from leaving Aztlan to dancing in a chant to the Gods.’ ‘It has really inspired me to learn as much as possible about this amazing ancient culture...’ ‘One of the things I want to do when I’m older is have a go at trying to find Aztlan...’ ‘When I’m older I wish to learn on that higher level that you spoke about...’ ‘Now I have the sense of how it must have been to live as an Aztec...’ ‘I learnt a lot about the objects that you brought with you in a fun and interactive way that you wouldn’t get to do in any museum...’ ‘It did really fly by, I didn’t want to leave I was so interested about them...’
Teacher feedback: ‘We particularly loved all the opportunities to get the children involved, from wearing great Aztec costumes, to playing tlachtli or blowing the conch shell! There were so many... interactive activities... which was absolutely wonderful - so thank you!’
Theresa Payton, Yr 5 teacher, Stroud School, Romsey, Hants., September 2013.

The children were enthralled
The children were enthralled
‘We were thrilled with the overall experience and feel the children were enthralled and it will be something they will always remember. It brought the topic to life for them. Many thanks!’
Brenda Jones, Year 4 Teacher, Our Lady of Sion Junior School, Worthing, June 2013.

‘I felt like an Aztec myself’
‘I felt like an Aztec myself’
Kids’ feedback: ‘I felt like an Aztec myself...’ ‘It felt like you were actually there...’ Teacher feedback: ‘Thank you once again for the wonderful presentation... we all learnt so much about the Aztecs... it was a very enjoyable experience for adults and children alike... our twenty first year and I look forward to welcoming you again next year...’ Priestmead Primary School, Harrow, June 2013.

‘A fascinating and inspiring trip into Aztec life and beliefs’
‘A fascinating and inspiring trip into Aztec life and beliefs’
Main strength: ‘Passion & enthusiasm for subject - conveyed to children. Kept them enthralled & fully engaged... Lots of different aspects of Aztec life covered. Lovely interactive sessions interspersed with factual content... Musical instruments & costumes/props really added to the authenticity of the experience... It was a fascinating and inspiring trip into Aztec life and beliefs.’
Teacher feedback, Woodville Primary School, South Woodham Ferrers, May 2013.
http://www.woodvilleprimaryschool.org.uk/

‘I’ve never been more engrossed in a performance before!’
‘I’ve never been more engrossed in a performance before!’
‘Please carry on teaching children your great knowledge of the Aztecs. You are by far the best and most fun visitors I have had’
’It felt so real... Your [sic] officially the most amazing, the most best guest that has ever come in to teach/show year 5 and year 6’
’I think we don’t need to learn much more on the Aztecs because you told us all we need to know’
’I hope to see you again because you inspired us all’
’I never realised learning about the Aztecs could be so much fun’
’I really can’t believe how exsited [sic] I was to watch your show’
’I have never been more engrossed in a performance before!’
Children’s letters from Homerswood Primary School, Welwyn Garden City, March 2013.

‘You just get better each time...’
‘You just get better each time...’
‘I am writing to thank you for the extremely informative session you gave to our Year 5 and Year 6 classes on Friday. To show their appreciation the children have written you thank you letters which I have enclosed.
’On behalf of myself and the Year 6 teachers I would just like to say how helpful your website and live presentation have been in ensuring that the children get a detailed understanding of the Aztecs. The visual and interactive nature of your visit has left a lasting impression on the children. It was wonderful to see them all taking an active role in their learning and this has translated into the classroom. They are having in depth discussions about the Aztecs and relating their class work to your session.
’It was obvious when watching you and viewing your website that you are very passionate about the Aztecs. My colleague has seen you three times previously and commented that she was amazed that you just get better each time. So I hope that you continue this wonderful experience for years to come and that I get the opportunity to share your amazing presentation with future classes.’
Emily Sullian, Year 5 teacher, Homerswood Primary School, Welwyn Garden City, Herts., March 2013

‘Wonderful Aztec adventure’
‘I just wanted to write and say thank you for the wonderful Aztec adventure you took our children on last Wednesday. They were so thrilled with all they had seen, heard and learnt and conversations could be heard all over about how exciting it was.
You and your wonderful family brought the Aztecs to life for all of us. We really appreciate all the efforts you make to create such a realistic, factual, eye-catching presentation and are so looking forward to your visit again next year.’
Sophie Guest, Year 4 Leader, Orley Farm School, Harrow, January 2013, by email

Your enthusiasm was infectious...
Your enthusiasm was infectious...
‘It was a pleasure to have you this week, your enthusiasm was infectious and your knowledge incredible. I could see that the children really enjoyed it. Take care and hope to see you next year.’ Stephen Nicholas, Year 4 Teacher, Castleview School, Slough, Berks., after workshop 27/11/12.

One of the best presentations we see
One of the best presentations we see
‘Your expert subject knowledge of the Aztecs and your ability to deliver this in a way that engages and motivates the children to learn further makes your presentation one of the best presentations we see.’ Vicky Lake, Subject Leader - Humanities, Parkfields MIddle School, Toddington, November 2012.

‘Now I’m an Aztec master...’
‘Now I’m an Aztec master...’
‘I didn’t want it to stop.’
’Using the videos was a good idea as it gave us a third person view of Aztec life.’
’I loved how you involved everyone in everything you did.’
’I loved the armadillo, it was calm, peaceful and wonderful!’
’You have inspired me and when I grow up I would like to do what you do for a living.’
’I like your badge you gave me when I got a question right.’
’That night when I got home I saw the rabbit shaped on the moon.’
’I thought that it was really good looking at all the old Aztec models and artefacts, it’s cool thinking that hundreds of years ago the real Aztecs were using it as a home life tool.’
’My favourite part was dressing up like an Aztec mother and Graciela on the screen showing how to put the baby carrier on.’
’I really liked the way that we were able to interact and dress up. The workshop helped me learn lots and was really fun.’
’I can’t believe the Aztecs were so advanced.’
’Your visit inspired me to find out more about the Aztecs and has got me more interested in history.’
’My favourite fact was the one about when you die your family curl you up in a ball like when you’re born.’
’One day I want to be a person who finds out all about Aztecs...’
’There wasn’t one bit I didn’t enjoy.’
’I loved learning so many new things about the Aztecs, it was so much fun!’
’I just wish we could do it all again.’
’Today was fun and energetic.’
’I knew nothing on the subject but now I’m the Aztec master!’
- Children’s letters from Down Hall Primary School, Essex, Feb 2012

Perfect enrichment of the curriculum
Perfect enrichment of the curriculum
One of my class came out and said ‘I wish I could watch it all again!’ Perfect enrichment of the curriculum.
Caroline Jupp, Leverington Primary Academy, Wisbech

I can now tell my mum about the Aztecs instead of her telling me
I can now tell my mum about the Aztecs instead of her telling me
‘The quizzes were extremely fun and made me learn so much more about the Aztecs’
’It was amazing how the Aztecs made all these unusual instruments. It was the best way of teaching, it brought the Aztecs to life’
’I really want to go to Mexico and see the [Sun]stone... Thank you for the best day ever’
What a fantastic, amazing and wonderful start to year 5 I will never forget our Aztec morning!!’
’My mum has an Aztec calendar pendant which she never understood. I have now been able to explain some of it to her so she knows that the Earth God with a flint tongue is in the middle with the twenty day cycle around it and the symbols for the four worlds’
’I can now tell my mum about the Aztecs instead of her telling me’
- Children’s letters from Stroud School

Passion for the subject!
Passion for the subject!
‘Very successful - the children learned lots from 2 people with such knowledge of and passion for the subject!’
Cuddington Croft Primary School, Surrey

You managed to include everyone in every single activity
You managed to include everyone in every single activity
‘I learned as much or more than an Aztec history book in just three hours! The amount of artefacts and clothing was just mind-boggling, it’s like a miniature museum complete with its own tour guide...’
’This experience is one of the best I had in my life.’
’What I loved about the talk was how you managed to include everyone in every single activity. I enjoyed it all so much, it was just so fantastically well done and thought through, and it amazed us all!’
Year 6 pupils, Cokethorpe School, Oxon.

You totally engage the children’s attention...
You totally engage the children’s attention...
‘You are brilliant. You, of course, have an enormous knowledge base; you totally engage the children’s attention; you present everything in a variety of ways - the dressing up, drama, music, slide projection (very clever idea), your lives, etc...’ Fátima Duerden, MFL Coordinator/Spanish Teacher, Dog Kennel Hill Primary School, London

A masterful display of entertainment and education
A masterful display of entertainment and education
‘Once again, thanks for coming. It was incredible to watch, a masterful display of entertainment and education - our children have been writing and talking about it all week!’ Ross Orton, teacher, Dog Kennel Hill Primary School, London.

The best visit [the staff] can remember
The best visit [the staff] can remember
‘The staff and children were all “buzzing” from your wonderful presentation... The feedback from staff was extremely positive. For some it was the best visit they can remember - some said they were amazed... Another teacher said you were the “sweetest of couples”.’ Brian Allen, teacher, St. Saviour’s CE Primary School, Poplar, London.

A truly great educational experience for adults and pupils alike
A truly great educational experience for adults and pupils alike
Mexicolore visited us for the 13th time today and never fail to disappoint in their colourful and highly interesting presentation of Aztec Civilisation. The pupils were buzzing with excitement and both Ian and Graciela should be commended for the way in which they get each and every child involved; we had 100! A truly great educational experience for adults and pupils alike and one that’s sure to linger in their memories. It’s worth it for the spectacle of Ian playing a conch shell alone , let alone the visual and audio spectacle of all the costumes and artefacts. I see a 14th booking on the Sun God’s horizon...
Sarah Mansfield, Head of English, Great Cornard Middle School, Sudbury, Suffolk

The most interesting workshop...
The most interesting workshop...
‘The most interesting workshop I’ve ever seen in schools in 21 years of teaching...’
Mrs Nottrodt, Year 4 teacher, The Hermitage School, Woking, Surrey

Outstanding, the best workshop I’ve seen
Outstanding, the best workshop I’ve seen
‘It was outstanding - we all learned so much! The children raved about it and I would say it’s the best workshop I’ve ever seen... You were fabulous - firm and kind [with the children]. Seamless organisation... You are doing a wonderful job...
Sarah Gould, Year 6 teacher, Holy Trinity CoE Primary School, Wimbledon, south London.

You really did us proud
You really did us proud
‘Can I add my thanks for your terrifically hard work on Sunday? It was absolutely wonderful, spectacular, informative and fun. You really did us proud and you must have been absolutely exhausted at the end. We hope to be able to work with you again, all very best wishes, Veronica.’
Dr Veronica Sekules, Head of Education and Research, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, University of East Anglia, Norwich

This weekend’s event was the best we’ve ever been to
This weekend’s event was the best we’ve ever been to
‘I wanted to write a quick note of appreciation for all the effort that must have gone in to planning and organising the wonderful Mexican themed event you hosted on Sunday. My family and I regularly come to the Sainsbury Centre [for Visual Arts, Norwich] and always enjoy the family Sundays however this weekend’s event was the best we’ve ever been to - so much information and fun and creativity, we ran out of time! My husband and I have travelled a lot in Mexico and we found the couple who presented the information to be so dynamic and generous, even our four year old was captivated and now wants to know more about mummy and daddy’s travels. Thank you so much for a fantastic afternoon.’
Fiesta!, SCVA, UEA, Norwich, November 7th 2010.

‘We watched, we danced, we laughed, we learnt...’
‘We watched, we danced, we laughed, we learnt...’
‘Just amazing! We watched, we danced, we laughed, we learnt... We all really enjoyed it. “The best experience of my primary school” - Luke, aged 10.’ Sam Williams, teacher, St. Giles CoE Primary School, Great Maplestead, Essex

‘By far the most exciting school visitors’
‘By far the most exciting school visitors’
‘You are by far the most exciting and educational school visitors I’ve ever come across... You are both totally charming and captivating!’ Teacher, Braunstone Community Primary School, Leicester’

‘I learned more this morning...’
‘I learned more this morning than in 34 years of teaching...’ Teacher, Nutley Primary School, Sussex, after workshop, 15/6/10

‘The praise on your website is well deserved’
‘The praise on your website is well deserved’
‘Thank you so much for your visit, the praise on your website is well deserved. Will be recommending you to all of my teaching friends! The children were all engaged and this showed in their behaviour and responses. It was everything I hoped for and more. Many thanks.’ Emma Davey, Higham Primary School, Kent

‘You made me a genius about the Aztecs...’
‘You made me a genius about the Aztecs...’
‘Thank you so munch your made me a genius about the Aztecs I couldn’t Thank you more.’ Year 3 boy, Thomas’s Prep School, London

‘Quite outstanding’ interaction with the children
‘Quite outstanding’ interaction with the children
‘Outstanding. Certainly one of the best sessions I have seen. Girls all “buzzing” after - VERY enthusiastic/loved it. [Main strengths:] involving all the children, respecting their ideas and questions. You have a lovely way with the children that brings out the best in them.’ Royal Masonic School, Junior Dept., Rickmansworth

I had a big smile on my face for the rest of the day...
I had a big smile on my face for the rest of the day...
‘Fantastsic! Enjoyed by pupils, parents and governors. The whole morning was so interactive. The children were engaged, enthusiastic and fired up to find out more... [Main stengths] You! - You are enthusiastic and inspiring.’ Teacher
’It is a privelage to be taught by you.’ ‘I had a big smile on my face for the rest of the day.’ Pupils
’Mexicolore are obviously passionate about this subject and they portrayed this to the children passionately. It was so refreshing to see “learning” in such a positive environment, streets away from “death by powerpoint”. My daughter came home full of enthusiasm too!!’ Parent
The enthusiasm shown by Ian and Graciela kept everyone enthralled. I never expected to enjoy it so much. I feel that everyone must have left the hall learning so much more, by living the day to day life of the Aztecs.’ Parent
’A fantastic experience for the children and adults alike... History was told in an imaginative way, and because it was hands on, the children became more and more enthusiastic!!’ Governor
’The culmination of the display, with full Mexican dress, musical instruments and chanting was a joy to watch.’ Governor
- Denmead Junior School, Hampshire

The children felt special
The children felt special
‘The children felt part of the whole experience - from start to finish! The way you set up the room made the children feel special and they enjoyed the atmosphere you created... The children learnt a lot and as it was so VERY interactive they have retained all that they learnt... The way you spoke to the children was perfect - they felt comfortable and at ease straight away.’
Twydall Junior School, Gillingham

‘One of the best visits we have ever had...’
‘One of the best visits we have ever had...’
“... and the children ‘loved’ it. We will book again. [Main strengths:] personal touch, humour...”
Chris Jamison, Claremont Primary School, Tunbridge Wells.
See some of the resources/art developed by this school on our ‘Aztec Displays’ pages...

Never seen the whole year group so engaged
Never seen the whole year group so engaged
‘Fantastic! It was a great end to our intensive 2-week block on the Aztecs. I’ve never seen the whole year group so engaged.’
Sarah Pollard, Chantry Primary School, Luton

The best production I’ve seen in school
The best production I’ve seen in school
“...really had the wow factor. 10/10. The children found it very exciting... I’m delighted I discovered your site on the web as I found the whole day very engaging, the children and I both learned lots about the Aztecs. I will definitely recommend your company to colleagues as it has been by far the best production/presentation I’ve seen in school. Well done to both of you for bringing the children’s history to life.” Eimear McArdle, Lady Margaret Primary School, Southall

We’ve travelled back in time
We’ve travelled back in time
“We feel as if we’ve travelled back in time with you to Aztec days.” Janice Hathaway, Year 6 leader, Cranleigh CE Primary School, Surrey

A fantastic day...
“Thank you both so much for a fantastic day, all the children and staff loved it and learnt so much. All your hard work, effort and enthusiasm was greatly appreciated.” Gaynor Moseley, staff and children from Brambleside CP School Kettering (by e-mail)

Thank you very much for the fantastic workshop
Thank you very much for the fantastic workshop
“Thank you very much for the fantastic workshop that you put on for the children last Wednesday morning. They all thoroughly enjoyed themselves and are now enthusiastic and eager to learn more...” St. John’s CE Primary School, Tunbridge Wells

Even better than Chessington!
Even better than Chessington!
“The children loved it and gave it 10/10... ’It was even better than our trip to Chessington!’ - Justin, aged 9” St. George’s RC Primary School, Harrow

‘World class’ teachers
‘World class’ teachers
‘We’re lucky to have two world class teachers on the Aztecs here today: what Graciela and Ian don’t know about the Aztecs isn’t worth knowing!’ - Rosemary Brook, Head of Art, Rupert House School, Henley-on-Thames

‘ A magical and colourful extravaganza of Aztec Life’
‘ A magical and colourful extravaganza of Aztec Life’
"WOW! What a day-Ian and Graciela had our children in an Aztec Fever the moment they arrived. The morning flew by in a magical and colourful extravaganza of Aztec Life. Our pupils were buzzing when they left. 100% recommendation to all interested schools-worth every penny. Thank you." (Great Cornard Middle School, via our website).

Without doubt an excellent educational visit...
Without doubt an excellent educational visit...
"I would like to thank you both for delivering a superb Aztec presentation to our year five pupils. The children had a wonderful morning and are still talking about the experience now! Your knowledge and expertise on the Aztec civilisation is exceptional and the presentation was delivered through lively, interactive and extremely enjoyable performances. I have never seen a whole year group so focused on one activity for that period of time! One member of staff said that she would happily pay to watch the performance again! You both have such a lovely manner with the children also, which ensured their participation and enjoyment. It is without doubt an excellent educational visit and we will certainly be booking again for next year..." Parkfields Middle School

The atmosphere in the hall was electric
The atmosphere in the hall was electric
"This was an extremely valuable morning - packed full of information." "The interactive session was fantastic - the atmosphere in the hall was electric." "We all really enjoyed the experience and felt that you helped extend the children’s knowledge and tackle some tricky concepts in a simple, but not patronising way."

Learning History at a whole new level
Learning History at a whole new level
"Thank you once again for a truly memorable presentation; it is one of the highlights of our year." "You taught us difficult things but in an enjoyable way... we were learning History at a whole new level. Since you came I have taken a much greater interest in History, especially in Aztec Gods. I have never been so interested in History; we actually got up and about and actually did something instead of sitting in a classroom... It was one of the best experiences of my life." "I loved the sound of the two-tone tongue drum; it made me think of Mexico hundreds of years ago." "I liked chanting whilst playing on different instruments. As soon as I walked into the room I couldn’t wait to get started." "Your workshop has made me realise that the Aztec people were very advanced."

A complete multi-sensory experience...
A complete multi-sensory experience...
1) 10/10: presentation - excellent, content - excellent, overall value - outstanding. 2) Absolutely fantastic educational value. A complete multi-sensory experience enabling our special needs pupils to feel and understand aspects of Aztec life.

The presentation definitely had the ‘wow’ factor...
The presentation definitely had the ‘wow’ factor...
"Thank you yet again for another wonderful presentation. The children learnt so much this morning. I still can not believe how much information you are able to cover in such a short amount of time! It is quite incredible. The children were so excited by the whole experience that they spent most of the afternoon reminding me of all the extra things they had found out about the Aztecs. The presentation definitely had the ‘wow’ factor for them and I was really pleased at how much they had taken in. Our two new teachers, Anna and Laura, said how much they had enjoyed it too......................and they were so impressed at the depth of your knowledge on the subject. You had answers for every single question thrown at you! Amazing! Let me say how delighted we were to have you back at Glebe again and how much I appreciate the hard work and effort that you put into making the presentation so enjoyable for the children. Thank you both." (via email)

‘Aztecs Conquer School!’
‘Aztecs Conquer School!’
‘The Invaders - Ian & Graciela!’ (click to enlarge)

Almost a religious experience...
Almost a religious experience...
"Highly atmospheric - almost a religious experience when the lights went down. Our topic about Aztecs never really got going until we saw your presentation..."

"The hubbub of the drums shook the hard floor like thunder! The sound of all the different types of intrements was amazing."

"When the festival was on I felt like I was in Aztec time. The drums, matched the occation, the shells matched the occation, the music matched the occation, everything matched the occation. It was Immense. Thank you for the experiance of a lifetime."

"We were all really amazed when we all walked into the hall and it had been changed into a beautiful Aztec room."

"I especially liked the way you picked children from the audience."

I had thought the Aztecs were merely barbarians...
I had thought the Aztecs were merely barbarians...
"Before your display I thought the Aztecs were merely barbarians, but now I know that they were [also] a smart, peaceful civilization who concentrated mainly on pleasing their gods, other than fighting."

"Yesterday was probably the best morning I have had in my whole life."

"Your visit was the most Informative thing I’ve ever witnessed..."

"I will remember this day for many years."

"You are very much an inspiration to us all at Stroud. I know a lot more about the Aztec’s now than I did before and I loved dressing up as the moon goddess. I felt very important... I never knew they loved their music so much. It sounds so much more realistic the way you put it."

"I can’t get the chant out of my head now and all my friends think it’s awesome. I got to play a little wooden frog and a drum both were great fun. I am really sad it had to come to an end. Mexicolre was better than I ever thought it could be and I couldn’t find anything negative to say about it even if I wanted to!"

‘Like walking into EPCOT’
‘Like walking into EPCOT’
‘The whole atmosphere was like walking into ‘EPCOT’. It was a “stunning” experience. I loved it - as did the pupils...’

I don’t think you can find a better example...
I don’t think you can find a better example...
“I don’t think you can find a better example of bringing History alive...” - Steve Mills, Teacher and ICT Officer, William Ransom Primary School, Hitchin, Herts.

History really came to life
History really came to life
Mexicolore with Year 5 pupils, Glebe Middle School, Brighton. Pauline Davies, year-five leader at the school, said: ‘The presentation was absolutely amazing. The children have learned so much about the Aztecs and how they lived their lives, but, at the same time, had so much fun. History really came to life.’ (Article from the Shoreham Herald, 21/12/06) (Click to enlarge).

You mixed history with fun
You mixed history with fun
“I especially liked the gods and the hoop game. You gave me all the facts I will ever need and more...” “I never thought that the Aztecs were so advanced.” “I thought it was interesting because you mixed history with fun.”

The whole experience will stay with us for years to come
The whole experience will stay with us for years to come
‘Fantastic! A great start to our topic which led the children away from the often negative press which the Mexica receive to reveal a whole new side to their culture and society... The whole morning was brilliant, children and staff were enthralled... I couldn’t believe you could fit so much in one morning... Your enthusiasm was infectious - your relaxed and friendly manner meant the children warmed to you very quickly... [The slides] gave the children, who sometimes find it hard just to listen, another focus - they complemented the presentation superbly... Thank you so much for coming to visit us. The whole experience will stay with us for years to come. A truly super event.’

A totally quality visit
A totally quality visit
‘[Educational value & general success] outstanding. Children got a huge amount from it. Brilliant!... The children were totally engaged from the start to the very end... You spoke to the children with great respect... Thank you so much for such an informative and exciting morning. A totally quality visit.’

No-one else in Europe provides an Aztec experience for children like they do!
No-one else in Europe provides an Aztec experience for children like they do!
Chris Jupp, colleagues and children at Westwood Farm Junior School in Tilehurst, Reading, are old friends - we’ve been visiting them for 10 years! This year (2006) they added a lovely description of the visit to their school website, with plenty of informative photos and captions...

We can’t thank you enough for your input into our topic work
We can’t thank you enough for your input into our topic work
“Thank you so much for a wonderful day. The children are going to be talking about your visit for weeks, and I know they will remember it for the rest of their lives! The lighting effects created a fantastic setting, and I think the children thought they were stepping back into another time. Your artefacts are amazing and we could never hope to let the children see so many truly awe-inspiring items, let alone give them the chance to hold them and use them. They loved the dressing up, all the more because they were trusted to go back to their seats still wearing the costumes. Everything combined to give us an unforgettable day. ‘But it wasn’t just the artefacts and materials, it was the lovely, friendly, enthusiastic atmosphere created by the two of you. The children felt very comfortable and able to ask questions which were going to be answered without them feeling silly or embarrassed, and they loved the way Graciela treated them as if they were really Aztecs or modern day Mexicans. I know that over the next term, I’m going to be referring back to your visit every time we work on Mexico and the Aztecs, and we can’t thank you enough for your input into our topic work. Thank you so much...”

I find History so much more interesting
I find History so much more interesting
“I find History so much more interesting. Now I want to find out so much more about the Aztecs” “I can’t believe how much I learnt from being with you for only two hours. You were amazing” “I feel sorry for the Aztecs because the Spanish took all their books [and] laughed at what they believed” “We were going in the past and it also seemed like lifetime of an adventure” “I think the Aztecs must have been very clever people and I would be very proud to have the Aztecs as one of my ancestors” “I will remember this for a very long time” “I looked from inside the window, and thought, that Mexicolore was a huge company. In fact, you’re just three people! You were absolutly amazing... Sometimes when we’re doing history, I think about Mexicolore!” “Time flys very quickly when your having fun!” (Oct ‘05)

Caitlin says it for us...
Caitlin says it for us...
A lovely summary of what Mexicolore has to offer... (Click to enlarge...)

Inspirational
Inspirational
Mexicolore ran a series of 20 interactive workshops for schools on Aztec culture in support of the major ‘Aztecs’ exhibition (2002-3). Annie Harris, Head of Education at the RA, described our work in these terms: ‘[Mexicolore] conducted a series of 20 remarkable, interactive workshops for primary school children. These focused on the history of the Aztecs, their customs, beliefs and everyday lives. Using slides, artefacts, music, costumes and demonstrations, Ian and Graciela brought to life the Aztec world. The fast paced workshops gave children and adults a memorable, entertaining and educational insight into this ancient culture. The workshop space was full of colour and fascinating textiles, facsimile codices and artefacts collected over many years. I recommend Mexicolore very highly indeed.’ To the team itself Annie wrote afterwards: ‘We considered ourselves incredibly fortunate to have had the opportunity of working with you both at the Royal Academy. You were an inspirational addition to our Aztec programme and I hope you have success wherever you go to promote Aztec culture...’

Comments from teachers on the workshops run by Mexicolore at the Museum of Mankind from 1991 to 1993
Comments from teachers on the workshops run by Mexicolore at the Museum of Mankind from 1991 to 1993
“I’d like to say a special thank-you to the couple who ran the workshop so sensitively and professionally”

”A most successful visit enjoyed by the children and adults, very much depended on the wonderful personality of Ian and Graciela who complimented each other. Bravo to both ...”

”One of the best workshop sessions I have taken children to and we are a school with a long tradition of making good educational visits ...”

”In particular we would like to thank Ian and Graciela for the work they did with the group. The students responded well to their warm, personable approach and they appreciated the trust involved in letting them handle the exhibits, especially the musical instruments ...”

”I was most impressed by the way the teachers used drama, mathematics, music, movement and crafts to each us about Mexico. Graciela and Ian were absolutely marvellous teachers. All their materials were fresh, exciting and interesting ... This workshop was outstanding. We are experienced teachers who have taken children on countless outings but I can honestly say we all agreed that The Skeleton At The Feast was the very best trip we have ever had.”

Children spent four days talking about the presentation
Children spent four days talking about the presentation
“It was an excellent end to our half term topic and one which teachers would not be able to deliver. The children really listened well and spent the last four days of term talking about the presentation; you gave them lots of food for thought. They particularly enjoyed the finale, creating the build-up for a sacrifice really did seem to be their idea of a good time and I must admit it made my heart beat a little faster too! Seeing all of the artefacts at such close range really did inspire the children, particularly a little boy in my class who has a statement for special needs, I think after your presentation was the first time he has picked up a book of his own accord, he was so keen to learn.”

So much ancient wisdom seems to be lost
So much ancient wisdom seems to be lost
“On a personal level, I found the spiritual dimension you added strangely comforting. I also find it deeply saddening that so much ancient wisdom seems to be lost in our fast moving, modern world. I feel the work you are doing through Mexicolore is very valuable and I wish you continuing success.”

I think the way you taught us was fabulous
I think the way you taught us was fabulous
“I think the way you taught us was fabulous using slides, music and costumes. You’re a great influence to children to continue to learn history ... Thank you for choosing people to join in. I really enjoyed being a farmer and I also enjoyed watching my friends dressing up ... I think you are a lovely couple and I hope you have success with Mexicolore in the future.”

You really make learning fun
You really make learning fun
“Dear Graciela and Ian,
”... I hope that the next school you teach are just as entranced as I was. You really make learning fun Especially when we put on the headdresses and played as loud as we could. All in all, it was totally brilliant.”

I want to go back in time
I want to go back in time
“Dear Graciela and Ian,
”... I think the Aztecs instruments were Exellant because we don’t nomally play them but now I’ve heard them I want to go back in time and hear them for real I especially liked the rainsnake and the ocarina.”

I will never forget it
I will never forget it
“Dear Graciela and Ian,
Thank you very much (for) giving us such a lovely day out, I will never forget it. It was very exciting because it was my first time to London as well. I loved the drama workshop. All of the costumes were magnificent, I dressd up as an Aztec warrior, I had a brightly colourd headress that was made from leather and valueble feathers. I had a cloth over my head that had a picture of an eagle on the front, I also had a leather shinpad coverd in bells and tasles.
The Aztec musical instruments were amazing. My favourite one was the shell that Alex and Jack blew. I loved the sound of it because it sounded like a warning and a deep humming. The pictures on the screen were very helpful and made it a lot easyer and fun seeing it in everyday life from mexico.”

The best visiting presentation I have seen
The best visiting presentation I have seen
“I very much feel that you are most certainly the best visiting presentation I have seen! Very atmospheric with lights, music and so much to look at. Involvement of so many children was fantastic and brings the whole topic to life ... A thoroughly enjoyable and educational morning - thank you. We will certainly be asking you to return!”

I thought the Aztecs were boring but now I want to learn more
I thought the Aztecs were boring but now I want to learn more
“I had a spectacular time learning about the Aztecs, their beliefs their enemies and their differences and similarities to us.”
”Before you came I thought the Aztecs were boring but now I want to learn more and more.”
”The best part of Aztec day was the part when we played the old instruments as they really make you feel as if you’re there, in Aztec times, playing in a proper Aztec band.”
”Overall I think your mini Aztec exhibition was fabulous and has made me want to learn more and more about the Aztecs so that I can be just like you when I grow up.”
”One day I would like to go to Mexico because I know now how things used to be and I would like to see how much it has changed, seeing the people that lived there.”
”... And why did the Spanish people kill the Aztecs, what did they ever do to them?”
”When I closed my eyes I could see the Aztecs playing the music.”
”I never wanted the day to end, I wouldn”t change anything. I loved everything we did.”

What might it be like to be an Aztec?
What might it be like to be an Aztec?
“The screen helped me understand what (you) were explaining ...”
”It really made me think about what it might be like to be an Aztec and live in Mexico ...”

”I also thought the music and slides connected well with what you were saying ...”

”... so they played on the instruments and that was when the lights were like a warm reflection of burning fires!”

”I didn”t know that the Aztecs thought that everything had an opposite and that there was no such thing as taking but you had to give something back in return.”

”I liked how you didn’t just explain everything and make it boring, you got people to come up and do the things that the Mexican people would do. Even when you did explain things it was not boring because you taught us a lot and we could see the screen.”

In my book of memories for ever and ever
In my book of memories for ever and ever
“A big thank you for a wonderful presentation last Friday which the pupils, not to mention the staff, have raved about ever since”

”What a great day. It will be in my book of memories for ever and ever and ever. A special thanks to Ian and Graciela.”

”Today we take the walk back into the past, but no ordinary place could be so exciting. We went back to Tenochtitlan with the Aztecs! The Sports Hall is littered with Aztec things: crowns made with feathers, food, clothes and many statues were all displayed on a table. The atmosphere was dark for all the windows were blacked out. There were people looking at all the things that were brought. It was a great scene to enter. Ian and Graciela had brought all the exhibits. We learned very much from them, the way they showed the things was truly amazing and the way they got us involved was really good. Sometimes everyone was involved very much. The best was clearly the music; nearly everyone liked it. There were drums thumping, flutes whistling, boys shouting and wind pipes blowing. It was one great blast of noise and it sounded exciting. When you shut your eyes you really were in the Aztec city. It was a great day, one we could really remember.”

Your performance was fabulous
Your performance was fabulous
“One really good thing about Mexicolore is you tried to involve everyone. You made us all feel as if we were going back in time. Your performance was fabulous ...!”

”I like the way you put some pictures on the big screen because then we could see things instead of trying to imagine what they looked like.”

”You showed something, and showed the slide show to support your answer. It was also good when you showed a small object, then put it on slide show so we could see it ... The other good thing about it was the humar (sic), this caught our attention and made us want to learn.”

”When I first came into the hall I felt so excited, I thought it would be brilliant because of the way you set it up ... The big board discribed (sic) so much to us, and I think I understood it better that way.”

”Thank you for coming, you made this school day into one of the most exciting school days of my life!”
”When we pretended to be in a market, it actually felt like shopping in Tenochtitlan ...”

It looked magical
It looked magical
‘I am quite critical when it comes to educational presentations but I honestly cannot think of anything negative. I loved your flexibility re use of hall space. It looked magical so [the children] were immediately transported into a different world. For me personally, I very much appreciated you introducing them to big philosophical issues of balance; giving back to the land; passing down through generations - ideas that open up huge areas of thought for life so reaching out to them on various levels but without it being heavy or dull. You are both natural teachers! Well done. See you next year...’

A truly wonderful morning
A truly wonderful morning
“Once again we had a truly wonderful morning in your company. You will see from the enclosed letters that the children were as enchanted as ever by the morning and, as always, absorbed a prodigious amount of information. We now have a display of photographs in the entrance hall which provide a dazzling reminder of what went on. I can’t really thank you adequately - your display and presentation are second to none ...”

Flattering pictures!
Flattering pictures!
A delightful impression of Graciela and Ian at work from two pupils from Puckeridge, Hertfordshire. Thank YOU, Holly and Steph! (Click to enlarge)

Write-up in school magazine
Write-up in school magazine
From the Blue Coat School magazine. Click to enlarge...